Humanity in Digital Landscapes

Mind, Cognition & Psychology

UCD conference 2015

Humanity in Digital Landscapes

The Goldilocks of Conferences™, our annual UCD conference in London has earned a reputation as the industry's alternative hangout.

Not too big, not too small, with a program that's more TEDx than Ux, it's an antidote to conventional conference fatigue.

Over two days, design leaders, thinkers and practitioners from all disciplines come together to swap stories, and to hear many of the brightest stars in our constellation talk about how Design is disrupting, transforming and improving our world and the lives of the people in it.

Our conference theme for 2015 is Humanity in Digital Landscapes: Mind, Cognition & Psychology.

  • 23rd & 24th October
  • Deans Mews
    11-13 Cavendish Square
    London W1G 0AN
  • FULL PROGRAMME ON LANYRD

    GET THE WHOVA EVENT PLANNER

  • Eventbrite - UCD2015 User Centred Design Conference

SPEAKERS

FULL PROGRAMME ON LANYRD

We are delighted to confirm…

[Keynote]
The Joys and Sorrows of the Digital World: Finding Pleasure and Purpose in Digital Landscapes
Patrick Jordan, Consultant Business Psychologist

[Keynote]
Intelligence Everywhere: the Rise of Sympathetic Machines
Susan Cook, Senior Designer, Native Design
Steven Kelly, Electronic Engineer, Native Design

[Keynote]
Brainstruments – Adventures in Design, Cognition, and Musical Creativity
Lee Sankey, Director, Designer, Innovator, Strategist | @leesankey

[Keynote]
Almost Everything I’ve Learned From 5 Years of Lean UX
Jeff Gothelf, Author of Lean UX, Speaker, Organizational Designer | @jboogie

Self-Presentation Online
Aaron Parker, Senior UX Consultant, Nomensa | @AaronIRL

Our Eternal (Digital) Afterlife
Alberta Soranzo, Experience Design Director, Tobias & Tobias | @albertatrebla

A Semiotic Approach to Designing Interfaces
Alla Kholmatova, Interaction Designer, FutureLearn | @craftui

[Workshop]
Meta-moments: Thoughtfulness by Design
Andrew Grimes, Principal UX Consultant, Nomensa | @andrew_grimes

Make Me Think – Friction in Design
Bill Barham, Interaction Designer, ustwo | @kingbaramus

Design Thinking and Transformation in Business
Cathy Wang, Strategy Consultant | @Cathycracks
Nuno Oliveira, Project Manager, Method

Measuring Hard-to-Measure Things
Chrissie Brodigan, Lead UX Researcher, GitHub | @tenaciouscb

The Relationship Between Comics and Digital Content Design
Daniel Whiston, Digital Scriptwriter, Author

Speech - from UX to EX - It’s Emotional
Daryll Scott, Human Technologist

Creating Authentic Conversations with Customers and Users
David Gilmore, Senior UX Research Scientist, General Electric Global Research

[Workshop]
Guerrilla IA: Drafting an Information Structure When You Can’t Do a Card Sort
Elizabeth Buie, Principal User Experience Consultant, Natural Interaction Ltd. | @ebuie
Adam Babajee-Pycroft, User Experience Director, Natural Interaction Ltd | @adam_ux

Empathy: Science of Feeling
Emma Chittenden, CEO & Founder, Oubliette Ltd | @emchi
Bernadette (Bern) Irizarry, CEO & Founder, VLVT/ Velvet Hammer | @bernirizarry

Sonification of Virtual and Real Surface Tapping: Evaluation of Behaviour Changes, Surface Perception and Emotional Indices
Enrico Furfaro, UX Architect, WeLove Digital | @fasteedio

The Social and Psychological Impact of Invisible Interfaces
Georgios Maninis, Interaction Designer, ustwo | @gmaninis

The Sociology and Psychology of Closure Experiences
Joe Macleod, Designer, Author & Founder, Closure Experiences | @mrmacleod

Beyond Use: Using Cultural Affordances to Design for Meaning
John Payne, Principal & Co-Founder, Moment | @jeanphony

[Workshop]
Researching and Mapping Experiences
John Waterworth, Usable Insights and Government Digital Service | @jwaterworth

When Viewers Become Users
Jon Aird, Producer, BBC | @jonaird

The Neuroscience of UX
Jon Dodd, CEO, Bunnyfoot | @jonbunnyfoot

Putting the U Back in UX
Jon Reay, Digital Strategy Director, Aqueduct | @jreay

[Workshop]
The Graduate – Tweaking the System to Prepare New Talent for a Career in Digital
Jon Wall, Senior Consultant & UX Team Lead, Futureheads Recruitment | @jonwall14

Return on Investment in Inclusion
Jonathan Hassell, Accessibility Director, Open Inclusion | @openforaccess
Christine Hemphill, Managing Director, Open Inclusion | @openforaccess

And Not Or
Jonathan Lovatt-Young, Head of Service and Experience Design, Tribal Worldwide | @naughtynorth

Dogfooding – It Won’t Bite
Jonty Sharples, Co-founder & CDO, Hactar | @gringomoses

Designing for Our Future Selves
Julie Kennedy, Head of UX, Mail Newspapers
Lucy Scott, User Researcher, Mail Newspapers | @lucyscott6

[Workshop]
Cognition Clash in The Internet of Things - Designing for Chaos and Crash
Karl Smith, CEO, Paradigm Interactions Inc.
Thom Heslop, Director, Klein Rogge

Can't Someone Else Do It? When Are We Empowering Users with Digital Healthcare, and When Are We Just Being Lazy?
Katherine Benjamin, Digital Health Expert | @mskatiebenjamin

Customer Centric Innovation: the Good, the Bad and the Ugly
Kathryn Cormican, Lecturer & Research Leader, College of Engineering & Informatics, National University of Ireland, Galway

Making Data Useful: Design, UX and Innovation
Kevin Richardson, Director of User Experience, Infragistics | @khr_ux

Quant = Qual: the Power of Data-driven Insight
Lola Oyelayo, Director of Strategy & User Experience, Head | @LolaOye

How Experiences Sell Products
Lucy Blackwell, Creative Director, FutureLearn | @lucyblackwell

[Workshop]
Sketching to Support Free and Open Exchange of Complex Thoughts, Content and User Experiences.
Makayla Lewis, Post Doctoral Researcher, Royal Holloway University of London Information Security Group | @maccymacx

Using Situational Awareness to Improve Information-rich Digital Experiences
Mark Potter, Freelance UX Specialist, BASE UXD Ltd

[Workshop]
It’s Not What You Say, It’s The Way That You Say It – Using Your Voice to Your Advantage
Marika Rauscher, Soprano, Entertainment Specialist, and Performance Coach | @marikarauscher

Framing and Blending: Understanding Human Frames to Create Great Things
Mary Piontkowski, Head of Customer Experience, House of Fraser | @ maryp

[Workshop]
How to Design for the Future – Working with AI
Melinda Seckington, Developer, FutureLearn
Alla Kholmatova, Interaction Designer, FutureLearn | @craftui

Building a Digital Bank: the UX Way
Mikhail Goldgaber, Director of User Experience, Deloitte Digital | @mgoldgaber

Out of Our Heads? Some Thoughts on the Location of Thinking and Action
Nigel Shardlow, Director Planning, Sandtable Ltd

Why Difference Matters: Designing for Real People
Ofer Deshe, Managing Director, Tobias & Tobias | @Tobias_Tobias

Understanding New Behaviours: Photo Ethnography for Experience Design
Orla Hennessy, Senior UX Consultant, Foolproof
Melissa Riby-Williams, UX Consultant, Foolproof

Finding Humanity in Energy Consumption Data
Paul Huston, Senior UX Designer, Friday | @paul_huston
Rachel Coldicutt, Planning Director, Friday | @rachelcoldicutt

Punk Rock Principles That Put People at the Heart of Public Services
Rebecca Kemp, Director, Rebecca Industries Ltd | @rebeccakemp

Client Experience Design – Defining the New Client
Ryan Hall, Managing Director, Nice

[Workshop]
The Carrot and the Heuristic – the Big Problem with Technology and Big Data
Scott McArthur, Owner, Sculpture Consulting | @scott_mcarthur

Life Online – the Myths and Truths of Online Identity, Personality and Behaviour
Sofie Sandell, Author & Professional Speaker | @Soffi_Propp

Alternate Reality Games. Non-linear Storytelling Across Multiple Platforms
Susan Martinez, Programme Manager, BSD | @sus4mar

Legible London: Users at the Heart of a Legible City
Tim Fendley, Director, Applied Wayfinding | @AppliedStudio | @TimFendley

Wayfindr: Independent Travel for Blind People
Umesh Pandya, Associate UX Director, ustwo | @the_uMe

”You May Also Like...” How Digital Has Changed the Way We Develop Our Interests
Vaughan Evans, Director, FEB Digital

Our talks and workshops are drawn from design-related fields including industrial design, service design, UX, interaction design, ergonomics, psychology, behavioural science, social science, and the arts, as well as foundational theories and in-depth insights into current topics in business and research.
 
All our speakers provide their services for free. This allows us to keep the costs down for everyone, and to provide a fully catered conference with an engaging social programme over two days. For the same reason, we focus on UK-based speakers, but we do have a small budget to cover travel costs for exceptional speakers from abroad.

Latest news

Get in touch

If you would like more information about this year's conference, please get in touch.